Post-modern life

This was England’s first World Cup game against USA for myself and a group of lads and ladettes to whom I am related as we watched in a bar in Warsaw on Saturday. A flickering Polish telly screen bearing the words: BRAK SYGNALU, or transmission interrupted in Polish.

Why? Outside there was a summer thunderstorm which if you were anywhere near a salmon river would have you reaching for the orange Rapala. [On second thoughts I don’t like orange Rapalas. In high, coloured water I would rather use a purple-gold X-Rap. Or a two-inch orange tube-fly fished on a slow-sink line.]

The post-modern bit, of course (or is it the post-post-modern bit?) was standing up to capture the image on my mobile phone, with a view to blogging it, which I now feel bound to do. So there you go Ross, I did it! You were right and I’ll take you salmon fishing before too long.

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Post-modern life

  1. Chloe Giles says:

    Why hubby in a thunderstorm would you reach for an orange Rapala? I thought you are supposed to STOP fishing as it’s very dangerous with Carbon Fibre rods to fish in a storm!?! See I do listen to you…
    Chloe

Leave a Reply

