Gaula nine-pounder!

image

At last, a fish! No sooner had I posted my somewhat downbeat thoughts on our Norway fishing week thus far – and downed a ‘high tea’ plateful of barbecued chicken (thanks Howard) – than I headed out to catch the last half hour of my afternoon sess on the Gaula’s famous Bridge Pool.
As I descended the rocky path to the head of the pool I saw a fresh salmon leap clear of the deep, fast flow near the big rock opposite.
My heart beat faster: it looked very fresh indeed.
I fished the head of the stream first though, then shot a big overhead which seemed to cover the spot and ten feet of retrieve later the line pulled back as the following salmon turned on my size 7 Salar double-hooked Blue Charm and a powerful fight ensued with plenty of running line out into the pool.
A  tractor drove over the bridge at one point and pulled into the layby on the road above to watch what has been a rare sight recently.
All ended happily and the stunning 9lb cock fish bore long-tailed sea-lice: straight up from the fjord within the past day-and-a-half.
I turned to see new NFC owner-Chairman Per Arneberg and in hot pursuit, General manager, Enrico Cristiani. As we celebrated, Enrico and I saw another fresh salmon jump and within five minutes Per was attached to it!
Sadly this one came adrift but the week is now coming good fast.

image

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gaula nine-pounder!

  1. Well done! What a beautiful fish!

  2. henrygiles says:

    Thanks, Dave, it was a stunning fish and one of the most beautiful I have caught. I was doing the washing-up in our house at 4pm and by 4.30 had driven 5 miles up the valley and was whizzing down the pool with only 30 mins fishing time left when I just hit the fresh fish coming through. That’s salmon fishing and I hope that’s just what will happen to you on the Nith!

Leave a Reply

