Out on the Gaula

image

There’s no easy way to say this (and especially to rods coming out with me for the last 2 weeks of August): fishing on the Gaula is very tough right now. Hard, draining and bordering on soul-destroying as you fish through another pool with care for no result.

The reason? No fish. Or very few. Seven last week for NFC’s 20 rods and only three this week so far. Yes, this salmon adventurer is staring defeat – and my first blank week in three years – in the face.
But am I down about it? Well I feel for ‘my’ three UK rods Howard, Steve and Malc who are all as fishless as I. But their very good company – and the stunning scenery of the River of Silver and Gold (that’s me a couple of hours ago at the beautiful campfire spot on Homepool) have been some compensation.
Even as I write this post, guide Thies has dropped by to say two big fish were lost yesterday and new fish have been seen on the beats including a grilse at Homepool.
Me: ‘But I’ve just fished there!’
Thies: ‘I know, I was on the other bank – the fish showed behind you!!’
Lol.

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

