Join me for 3 prime-time days on the upper Nith

A fly-caught October Nith salmon.

IT IS hard to beat the River Nith in October. And with six weeks still to go on the Dumfriesshire river renowned for its late-running silver fish – and its big fish – mid-October is about the best time to fish for its prolific back-end runs of salmon.

If you fancy your chances fishing a beautiful upland stretch of the Nith, near Sanquhar, and would like to have a last crack at a 2012 salmon, I have three days’ prime-time autumn fishing available on a first-come-first-served basis for four rods (five in all, but I will be fishing myself). I will be fishing the dates Monday October 15, Tuesday 16 and Wednesday 17th inclusive. Join me for one, two or three of these days. While I can offer advice on accommodation, we will just meet at the river each morning at 8.30am. I will provide a light lunch and refreshment (tea and coffee).

Another advantage of the upper Nith is that when it rains – and in October in SW Scotland, if often does – the upper river is first to clear and become fishable again.

I can offer advice with casting, where required, but emphasise that although in training for my AAPGAI provisional DH qualification, I remain just that – in training! But on the beat concerned I have caught a salmon on each of the two occasions I have visited it previously in October, so will do all I can to point you towards a fish.

The price will be £70 for one day, £135 for two days or £200 for all three days. All money must be paid in full as soon as possible with cheques made out to Henry Giles and sent to 103 Mereside, Soham, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 5EE. Contact me via henrygiles01@gmail.com or phone me on 07961 921726 to register your interest and I look forward to fishing with you.

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Join me for 3 prime-time days on the upper Nith

  1. Hi Henry, is this at Ryehill, so that’s why I couldn’t get 5 rods on the 15/16/17th grrrrrrrrr.. I’ve been fishing that bit for 20 years… Rob 🙂

    • henrygiles says:

      Hey Rob, I guess that is why, sorry if it’s put you out, I booked back in April. Basically because I was guiding for three days the week before during my timeshare week and then wanted to fish ‘my’ three days the following week! Then this grew out of it. I hope you have managed to book other days. PS Are you going to Varzuga next year dya think? I am not as things stand tho I’ve said that before …

Leave a Reply

