A proper Nith salmon

Blimey this week has flown by so quick I’ve hardly had time to blog.
But now I must tell you about a big salmon I caught last night. The cock fish weighed between 18.5 and 19 lb and the reason I know this weight so exactly is that sadly I could not return the salmon, which had taken the rear, barbless treble of a Rapala right back into its gills.
As soon as I saw it was bleeding heavily I did what I had to do.
The fish, from our Beat 3, was magnificent, a lot of fish were showing at the time and this one followed the floating Rapala right to the edge of the stream and took it in a big swirl.
So there it is: happy to catch the fish but sad I had to take it.

image

My biggest ever salmon, but I wish I could have returned it.

I have for the past two days been guiding Dave in his bid for a salmon, which would be his first-ever. Dave is a fine fisherman and very handy indeed with his Hardy Demon DH rod so my role has been to show him towards the lies and fish. And I hope boost morale with M&S’s finest and hot beverages.

image

Dave (pictured wading/fishing here) had a good pull in Thorneybank pool on day 1 and we’ve seen plenty of salmon show but now as I write have just the 3rd and last day to do the business. Oh nearly forgot to say today – day 2 – was largely a washout tho offering real hope as the river fell quickly for the last 2 or 3 hours.
Tomorrow? It will come as no surprise to regular readers of this blog that amid the beautiful autumn conditions up here in Nithsdale at present, I remain very hopeful indeed. With Burn pool, Sandbed and the Bushes all fishing well in high water and plenty of fish in the river, we have a good chance.

image

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

