That was fun

image

The fishing season just gone.
It’s been amazing really. A very special time, a revelation, a watershed, seminal.
But now over.
It also marks the end of a year that started with my getting made redundant, and ended with getting a better job than the one I had before (central London, blogging from the train as I travel down for Day 1).
Born to fish, forced to work: well this is the work bit. Ah well.
I shall carry on blogging through the winter months because there’s plenty that happened to tell, or rather that I haven’t told already.
(Also those daily train journeys with remarkably good internet + the Samsung Galaxy.)
My last 1.5 days on the upper Nith at Ryehill did not bend the rod & as evident in the photo above I took it easy.
image

But what a lovely place.
So it’s a year of 23 salmon. Yes 18 of them in Russia but that’s not the point.
What is the point? Well my biggest and best fish was a cock fish just shy of 19lb from the Nith last week, for starters. Big thrill. And the fly-caught 15-pounder from the Miramichi was another highlight. And the 10lb licer from the Gaula’s Bridge Pool on a perfect Blue Charm.
image

But no, that’s not the point either. Henry David Thoreau said it’s not the fish we’re after.
Well, it’s something like that. I’ll keep thinking.. and fishing.

image

A fly-caught Nith fresh October grilse caught by my campsite buddy Roger on Monday.

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

