Friday photo

image

View from the verandah of River Cains fishing camp, New Brunswick, September 2012. Despite the low water and bright sunlight, One or more fresh salmon were showing in the junction pool in the far middle of shot.
If you would like to join me on a late September fishing trip here this year get in touch via henrygiles01@gmail.com or via the blog.
Have good weekends. I’ll be getting some new photos up soon, they’re on my laptop! Weak excuse lol.

And finally, just for a bit of fun, here’s a post I just put on Henry Gilbey’s blog, which I would recommend:
Hi Henry, It’s been a while since I’ve commented on ‘what I call’ (what you used to call?) your Friday Rants. I have always enjoyed these. Look I just read through your points above and, panning out a bit, I think you are becoming what all we fishermen become one day: to wit a bit of a philosopher. When one considers (in your case) TV programmes you made 15 years ago and how you make things differently now, and how maybe untainted by age (with the greatest of respect) and guile, 15 years ago, you were perhaps nevertheless wiser in some ways than you are now, etc, then look at your musings on the same, you realise there is a strong thread of something or other going on here. Look it’s called philosophy. Yes we were fresher, younger, wiser in some ways in the past. But we were also in many ways freaking stupid. And at the ripe old age of 46 – as of last week – I know I am freaking stupid at times now too. But that’s part of the fun of it all. It’s a journey. And yes it IS fun. And so is fishing fun. So just so I don’t go too off message, a quick word about tackle, specifically rods as mentioned above. Now I have changed my favourite rod just about every season, you ready? Here goes over the past five years: Salmon fly-rods, mostly double handers 12-15ft: 2006: Hardy Gem 2007: Partridge S Series 2008: Hardy Swift 2009: Orvis Shooting Star 2010: Well, still Swift and Shooting Star actually but the SH S in both 14ft and 15ft lengths 2011: Orvis Helios 2012: Hardy Sintrix, Vision Cult, Vision Catapult As you can see I’m a bit of a fashion victim lol. Cheers I’ll keep dropping by and hopefully some of your readers may enjoy the other Henry’s blog which can be accessed via Googling Henry’s Salmon Adventure. I philosophise quite a lot there too. 😀

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday photo

  1. David Norman says:

    Hello Henry, enjoyed your post on Mr Gilbey’s Blog I responded as follows

    Mr Gilbey, You can only tell it as you see it and in the context of that time.
    Mr Giles, I now feel a lot better about my rod buying “problem” :0

    Nice blog, Keep casting – David.

Leave a Reply

