Exactly 12 years ago

image

I caught these two Tweed fish at Tillmouth: A 3.5lb grilse on a single handed fly rod and a12lb salmon which took a Blair spoon I had just been trying off the side of the boat while the boatman rolled a cigarette. I saw the salmon follow the spoon up to the boat and alongside as I swung the lure before it struck. I remember the exciting fight, in fact the whole thrill of that day.
image

These were my third and fourth-ever salmon and these days I’d have put at least one of them back (no both). I just caught sight of them, and the date, July 6, 2001, as I popped into the house to shelter from today’s heatwave sun where they are framed on a wall.
I had been fishing at the invitation of fishing friend Andrew Nathan & it’s nice to remember these days of a summer past.
image
image

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

