Very sad news from the Kola

I couldn’t let another day go by without mentioning the very sad news from Russia’s Kola Peninsula.

First the 3 deaths on the Rynda helicopter, including two UK fishermen (Rupert Beaumont, 69, and friend), and now news that Umba camp manager Nick Poldosky lost his life in a White Sea shooting at the age of just 53.

In the salmon fishing world, and visiting these amazing places, one see life in all its bright glory, but this is the downside.

Finally, I also raise my hat at the passing of Kenny Macdonald who was a kind man who spoke many many times to me at length on the phone, especially giving me Highlands of Scotland river reports when I was assistant editor of Country Illustrated magazine in the late Nineties.

Kenny is the father of ace fly tyer Ross who has been very decent to me, supplying me with flies that have caught more than one Gaula salmon (and a Spey fish this year!)

Very sad and my condolences to all of the above’s families, friends and loved ones.

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

