A jammy fifty

140520111994Thanks to all fifty of you signed up to follow HSA, not least for your patience. I’m afraid I’ve been very quiet of late.

Work is very busy (oh well done, Henry, great excuse). And I still haven’t posted my fishing hat reflections on mortality. Which I must do one day before long.

Anyway I can’t just post here to say I’ve got fifty followers (yay). So here’s something that my workmate Steve ‘biscuits’ Godson mentioned to me from Alice In Wonderland which I think is brilliant because it’s just like salmon fishing:

“The rule is jam tomorrow and jam yesterday but never jam to-day.”

Or as they say down the river: ‘You should have been here last week”. And, similarly: “It will fish perfect next week.”

Here’s the full Lewis Carroll:

“It’s very good jam,” said the Queen.
“Well, I don’t want any to-day, at any rate.”
“You couldn’t have it if you did want it,” the Queen said. “The rule is jam tomorrow and jam yesterday but never jam to-day.”
“It must come sometimes to “jam to-day,”Alice objected.
“No it can’t,” said the Queen. “It’s jam every other day; to-day isn’t any other day, you know.”
“I don’t understand you,” said Alice. “It’s dreadfully confusing.”

Through the Looking-Glass – 1871

So tight lines everyone for now. I know they are starting to pull some very decent springers out of the Scottish rivers now, the Tay at any rate.

My fishing, as I’ve doubtless moaned before, has to wait till June. But I have just received exciting news about that in the form of a passport winging its way to me Special Delivery with a tourist visa stamp in it.

Which is cool.

140520111994

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

