Friday photograph

RedRock

It is around this time of year that I start thinking about fishing, and Russia in particular. I found this photo from the archives which I’ve never published and particularly like. I was fishing Clarke’s up on Middle Varzuga’s top beat on the last late-afternoon of my late-June 2014 visit. Much upstream of here and you would be poaching in Pana’s water (the famous upper Varzuga beat).
Yes the line is hanging loose but I had to take the photo didn’t I? The rock just downstream is called Red Rock. I am reliably informed on this because Brian Fratel immediately identified it when I showed him the shot on my phone in Farlows after my return. His next question was: ‘Did you catch a fish down from the rock?’
Well I’m pretty sure I did. I caught about five in that last two hours of the week, quite coloured salmon of about 4 to 6 lb. Great sport though, of course, all on a Phatakorva tube-fly, quite a big one in the fast water.

So tight lines to all those after a springer. Facebook fishing friend Geoff Oldham is up on the Spey at Tulchan. Nice. And there’s been a salmon caught on fly on the Burgh water of the Nith, according to Fish Nith’s reports section – an 8 lb fish, with another one lost soon after.

Have a good weekend.

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

