Friday photograph

MVWednesdaypurplepatchIt had been a, for Middle Varzuga, relatively quiet afternoon interlude. After picking up a fish from Party pool after lunch wading, we had fished a bit from the boat in lower Generator and it had all gone quiet.
So I suggested to Ivan I’d like to spend the last hour and a half wading and I headed up to the very top of Generator pool.

I had on an RS Tiger fly – part of a Green Machine swopsies Terry M and I had enjoyed at lunchtime, and now here I was fishing it off an intermediate shooting head in Screen Shot 2014-08-01 at 12.38.03cool, windy conditions.

To cut a long story, it worked and worked well. Four fish later (three caught and released including the one pictured here, and one which I had to take for the kitchen which swallowed the fly into the gills), I retired for dinner at about 7.30pm. Great, great sport with hard fighting salmon leaping and pulling in the cool flow leaving much to celebrate, not least a fantastically effective dressed double. So thanks Ron Sutherland, who I believe invented the fly, and Terry.

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday photograph

  1. moyfisher says:

    Hi Henry
    Thanks for reminding me whats its like to catch a salmon (LOL), Its dire over here and it looks like continuing for another while until we get water.
    All the best
    Moyfisher

Leave a Reply

