A trout from the world’s best salmon river

P1020513I caught this trout in 2010 on my first visit to the Kola’s Varzuga River. All right to be honest it could be 2011. Anyway it’s rather a pretty fish and quite a rarity on the Varzuga. Certainly it was regarded as very special by my guide and I’m pleased now he took the shot (even if I didn’t look it at the time). If it is 2010 the story is that I had yet to catch my first Russian salmon and I think I caught that important fish shortly after this shot was taken.

Note the lovely high spring water height and of course the ever-looming skyline of spruce on the far (right) bank: what a place.

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

