2014 in review

wpid-20140627_141400.jpg

Fish on! Middle Varzuga, June 27th, 2014.

Good afternoon everyone (no it’s not 2015 yet!), hope you are having a great New Year’s Eve and your Christmas was merry.

I don’t need much of an excuse to post but in this case it was to convey that the WordPress.com statisticians emailed me to say that Henry’s Salmon Adventure blog was viewed about 5,300 times in 2014.

Apparently, if it were a NYC subway train, it would take about 4 trips to carry that many people. Which didn’t sound that much to me – unless you’re talking about the ‘Noo Yoik’ Tube stuffed to the gunwales like those London Tubes I travel on. Then it’s quite a lot I suppose.

wpid-P9080325-1.jpeg

Christopher with a Miramichi fish

But: quality not quantity – everyone of my HSA followers are top people – I know most of them and am related to some and married to one (after all she – Chloe – helped me set the thing up in the first place, back in 2010). I have fished with quite a few too – and that’s important. So to celebrate here are some mug shots of some of them.

Paul

Paul – in the Western Isles, September 2014.

I’ve been having a great Christmas. Been thinking quite a lot about my fishing too, and writing about fishing, about which I have some exciting news to be announced in due course.

Craig

Craig, River Lochy, summer of 2012.

The last five years especially have been just so amazing in terms of my interaction with the fishing world. I have met some truly wonderful and interesting and most importantly good people and having a few days off, well 2 weeks for Christmas, have been sifting through papers, photos, mementoes, fishing tackle you name it. All of which have really amazed me at my good fortune in ‘fishing large’ throughout the Atlantic salmon world – Scotland, Norway, Russia and Canada – in the last few years.

ec184e3621d64b0c2aed0f3e3ee7264e_mini

Daniel (with Gaula tiddler. Ha!)

Of course, I was fishing before 2010, and had some great trips, with Trout and Salmon magazine, and before that building up my fishing experiences on the River Nith and the Tweed where I have been lucky enough to fish since 1998, and since 2000 with pal Andrew, with whom I had a long fishing conversation 48 hours ago (he wants to come out and fish the Gaula with his son in August which I hope will happen as I’d love to have him in my group and I can’t think of anyone who would enjoy the Gaula more or who would be more likely to catch one of those beautiful Norwegian fish as he is a darned good fly-fisher).

Dad (fishing the Trolley pool on the Nith this July).

Dad (fishing the Trolley pool on the Nith this July).

Anyway, I’d best get off for a run and then we have some people round for the new year. I have made two large curries – one chicken and one veg – and Chloe has about 3 litres of whipped cream for her soon to be famous profiteroles.

I fish Gaula (Aug 2-9 incl, join me if you like!), the Nith (July and October weeks) and maybe somewhere else in September this year.

I hope the salmon return as – Russia aside – they have been scarce the last 2 years.

Manfred

Manfred, showing me the NFC history books during filming of Goz and Hamacher’s Gaula: River of Silver and Gold in 2011.

Either way, it’s all to play for and now I’d better go or I’ll be slipping all over the Fenland ice in the dark and probably will be anyway.

I hope the link below works, apparently I had 90-odd hits for one of my Varzuga posts last summer which was gratifying.

All best and … Happy New Year, have a brilliant 2015!

Click here to see the complete report.

Charlie looking cool on Porter's pool in 2010

Charlie looking cool on Porter’s pool in 2010

About henrygiles

Born to fish forced to work and fish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2014 in review

  1. prdryfly@googlemail.com says:

    Happy New Year!

    I’m sitting down trying to sort out my tube flies into some sort of order. Just counted 457 of them. Now, should I arrange them back in boxes by length of dressing as well as tube length and weight…. or get out a bit more?

    Talking of being out. I spent a few hours on the Avon catching Grayling this afternoon as it’s the last day of our season today. A beautiful afternoon in Wiltshire for a cast.

    All the best

    Paul

    Sent from Windows Mail

  2. moyfisher says:

    Hi Henry
    Happy New year. Let hope the opportunities to fish and catch fish will come regularly this season.
    It couldn’t be much worse than last year, could it?
    Tightlines
    Paul

    • henrygiles says:

      HNY to you too, Paul!. Yes I really hope for good things from the salmon and an early showing of good runs. I feel that come March/April we’ll have an idea in Scotland and Ireland whether another disaster can be averted.
      All best and look forward to following yours. Henry

Leave a Reply

